Audio: Gen Y – In Their Own Words – Danielle


After noticing the amount of interest in the Gallup Q12 employee engagement study I decided to take it to the next level. This topic and study by far out ranks any other post on my blog. So with that in mind I set out to make it my own in order to give you insight into what the working generations are really all about. I thought this would be a different twist on the topic instead of me telling you what they think – I decided to let them tell you in their own words. So I re-wrote the Q12 questions and renamed them the N12+ and tried to make them more conversational.

So what you have below is the culmination of that in the form of a recorded discussion between me and a Gen Y’er named Danielle and her thoughts and opinions on what it takes to engage her at work.

If this gathers as much interest as the other generational and employee engagement posts, I will continue to interview and discuss these questions with working members of the other generations as well. So stay tuned.

Click below to listen to my discussion with Danielle:

Playback time for the Audio is 15 minutes.

3 responses to “Audio: Gen Y – In Their Own Words – Danielle

  1. I agree with both of you, and thank you for your comments. Danielle is a great example of what I believe is the best of Gen Y and their ability to be productive go-getters. I was very impressed with her answers and insight.

  2. Thanks for the interview. I’m a generation X and I think it’s refreshing to hear that her comittment to lifelong learning and a great work ethic, is important to her. It made sense to me that a positive atmosphere and frequent conferences as to how they are doing in the workplace actually benefit the employee and give them more self confidence. She gave great insights for those of us who are mentors to the new generation of workforce. Thanks for this interview!!

  3. Great interview, I’m very happy to hear that some people in my generation actually understand what work is….she seems to understand that you have to “work” to become a professional…this does not happen over night. We need to rely on our elders to teach us the way. I am a little less ashamed to be a gen-Yer because of people like her. Thanks Nick

Leave a Reply

