Workplace Discrimination in Recruiting Statistics


I have to admit that in today’s society I am surprised that this is still an issue. When I went to look at the numbers I didn’t think there would be such a disparity between the candidates, apparently I was wrong. This is an unfortunately sad statement that people who are well suited for a job are still discriminated against. While these are for waiter/waitress positions, I would have to assume based on this sampling that even in other occupations discrimination at some level still exists.

I hope I am wrong.

Recruiting Discrmination

2 responses to “Workplace Discrimination in Recruiting Statistics

  1. Venkat,
    Thank you for your thoughtful comments.

    I had wondered about some of the same points that you made, but upon looking at the study they were very detailed in their approach. Seemingly they did try to make sure to have as much parity between candidates as possible.

    I would encourage you to look at the full study it is very interesting.

    http://www.bendickegan.com/pdf/2009/Testing_article_%20Feb_2009.pdf

    Thanks again for the comment!
    Nick

  2. Is there any supporting analysis to show that this is in fact due to discrimination and not due to actual differences in candidate quality and inter-cultural communication problems (for things like shaking hands)?

    Some of these could also be about interviewer training. Some things (like impulsively making an informal job offer when there should be a post-processing) are due to that sort of effect.

    I am VERY wary of reading discrimination into such superficial data about very problematic statements. The very wording of the row items suggests to me that this study was hastily put together by somebody intent on finding discrimination. This actually HURTS equality efforts by shoving low credibility data/studies into the discussion.

    I am sure there is still true discrimination out there, but this isn’t effective as a way of demonstrating or fixing it. My fave example of the right way to do it is the example of music auditions going from open to behind-screen, resulting in a huge leap in the number of women hired into symphony orchestras. Not always possible to hit that level of elegance in research and intervention design, but that should be the ideal.

Leave a Reply

